Another Week in the MTC

星期一: Was super amped to leave, everything was closed so nothing major happened.

星期二: Re-signed visa paperwork

星期三: Nothing really…

星期四:Ten hours before departure I was informed that I would not be going to Taiwan anytime in the foreseeable future. The news was pretty disappointing, but you know, whatever.

星期五: The disappointment continued and I was informed it would be quite some time before I found myself in Taiwan.

星期六: I was really sick…

星期天: After a really long night of minimal sleep I awoke feeling something I didn’t expect to. I felt Hope.

This past week was markedly empty. Spiritually, physically, emotionally.
I lost my teachers at the end of last week and was reassigned temporary teachers. However, they were short on Mandarin teachers so we got a Cantonese instructor. It felt like they were just trying to baby sit us til we left.
Everything was just kinda of on hold as I the main focus was all the preparing to leave, there was an anxious energy in the air. Then I didn’t leave.
I was feeling pretty down.
Also, I have had some health complications these past few weeks and missed a lot of class because of it.
I felt myself at the end of my rope. I was angry at myself. Here I was, on a mission, feeling sorry for myself. Man I knew I was being stupid.
Everything seemed uncertain. I didn’t know how to take my trials.
Then I thought long and hard about what I should do. While pondering I asked myself:

What would Brian Boitano do
If he were here right now?
He’d make a plan and follow through
That’s what Brian Boitano would do

When Brian Boitano was in the olympics
Skating for the Gold
He did two Salchows and a triple Lutz
While wearing a blindfold.

It helped a little. But I knew if I wanted real help, I had to turn to the Lord.
While reading the good word I came across an old passage. I wish to share it with you now.

And as for the perils which I am called to pass through, they seem but a small thing to me, as the envy and wrath of man have been my common lot all the days of my life; and for what cause it seems mysterious, unless I was ordained from before the foundation of the world for some good end, or bad, as you may choose to call it. Judge ye for yourselves. God knoweth all thesethings, whether it be good or bad. But nevertheless, deep water is what I am wont to swim in. It all has become a second nature tome; and I feel, like Paul, to glory in tribulation; for to this day has the God of my fathers delivered me out of them all, and will deliver me from hence forth; for behold, and lo, I shall triumph over all my enemies, for the Lord God hath spoken it.

I know that we all have a purpose here on this Earth. Sometimes it is easy to lose sight of what we are doing here and what is important.
It’s at that time we need to just stop, take a knee, pull some security, and drink some water.

​Keep Fighting the Good Fight!

Ài,
Wáng Zhǎnglǎo

王長老

Leave a Reply

